INR Full Form

Empowering India's Financial Realm

INR Full Form

Empowering India's Financial Realm

Discover the best courses abroad


What is the full form of INR?

The full form of INR is 'Indian Rupee,' the official currency of the Republic of India, regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Introduced in 1957, the Indian Rupee is subdivided into 100 paise.

What Are the Different Denominations of INR?

  • INR is issued in coins of 50 paise, 1, 2, 5, and 10 rupees, and banknotes of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 2000 rupees.
  • Most banknotes feature the image of Mahatma Gandhi.

How Does the RBI Regulate the Indian Rupee?

  • The RBI, under the Reserve Bank of India Act of 1934, manages the issuance and regulation of INR.
  • It ensures the stability and integrity of the national currency.

What Security Measures Are in Place for INR?

  • INR notes include safety threads, identification tags, watermarks, fluorescence, and optically variable ink to prevent counterfeiting.
  • These features are essential for maintaining the economic stability of India.


The Indian Rupee, or INR, symbolises India's economic strength and stability. Its careful management by the RBI and robust security features are key to maintaining the nation's financial integrity.

Book your FREE consultation with Certified Counsellors


study abroad consultants

Let's get social.

Test Preparation

Our Partners