NCR Full Form

Shaping Tomorrow's Cities Today

NCR Full Form

Shaping Tomorrow's Cities Today

Discover the best courses abroad


What is the full form of NCR?

The full form of NCR is 'National Capital Region.' The NCR encompasses the metropolitan area of Delhi and its neighbouring districts from the states of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Haryana in India. It includes Delhi and the metropolitan areas of the neighbouring states, forming a significant urban agglomeration.

NCR Full Form in Hindi

The full form of NCR in Hindi is "राष्ट्रीय राजधानी क्षेत्र" (Rashtriya Rajdhani Kshetra), which translates to "National Capital Region" in English

Why Was the NCR Formed?

  • The NCR was conceptualised to alleviate the population strain on Delhi.
  • The First Master Plan for Delhi in 1962 proposed combining parts of Delhi and adjacent towns into a metropolitan city.

What Areas Are Included in the NCR?

  • The NCR consists of 23 districts across Rajasthan, UP, and Haryana, along with Delhi.
  • Key areas include Faridabad, Gurgaon, Noida, Ghaziabad, Sonipat, and Bharatpur.

How Is the NCR Regulated?

  • The National Capital Region Planning Board Act of 1985 governs the NCR.
  • The board ensures coordinated development of the region, balancing urban and rural planning.


The National Capital Region, or NCR, plays a crucial role in India's urban development. It represents a strategic effort to manage the growth and development of a major metropolitan area, impacting millions of residents.

Book your FREE consultation with Certified Counsellors